Preparations for writing the notebook - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Marten Lourens - WaarBenJij.nu Preparations for writing the notebook - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Marten Lourens - WaarBenJij.nu

Preparations for writing the notebook

Door: Marten Lourens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marten

02 Februari 2016 | Nederland, Groningen

Today I had to wake up early at around 7 o’clock. This was because I had driving lessons before I had to go to my international internship at the RUG.
After driving lessons my mother brought me to the RUG and I arrived there a little bit after 10. I immediately started working as I was eager to learn more Python :), but first I finished the algorithm I wrote the other day for the ABC-formula. The learning process went on for the first half of the day only interrupted to get some coffee and have lunch during which I had long conversations about anything and everything with some of Mr. Vogelaars colleagues.
When I was walking through the hallway to go to lunch Mr. Vogelaar pointed at a group of students and said that that was the group of students I was writing the computer practicum for. I still think it is quite funny that, as I am still a secondary school pupil, I have to write documentation to help the students at the university to learn to write code:).
After lunch I started making a list of the things I thought would be nice to be in the practicum. The list included integrals and how to make a program written in python draw a graph. The list also included very basic things like AND, OR and NOT operators and variables. After having finished the list I continued to learn the Python programming language. When it was around half past 3 I discussed with Mr. Vogelaar which things should definitely be in the notebook. He came up with the idea, as the notebook is for astronomy students, to also put some formulas that had to do with the laws of physics in the notebook. Good ones would be the formula to calculate the energy released when an electromagnetic wave hits an electron and kicks it out of orbit and the formula to calculate the gravity between two objects. From those formula’s we could use the constant of Planck and the gravitational constant as fixed variables in the function and the rest as the parameters of the function.
After this discussion it was around 4 o’clock and we had to find a way to make screenshots of the screen of the Texas Instruments calculator. This was quite hard as the software named TI connect is not compatible with a Linux operating system. We first tested whether a virtual machine with a Microsoft windows 7 OS would be the solution but it didn’t work. Eventually we did it with a laptop running windows 7 as well as Linux. You could choose which OS to boot the computer with as they were each written on a different partition on the hard drive. We booted the laptop with Windows 7, downloaded TI connect and hooked up the calculator with the laptop. When the laptop was finally correctly configured with the home server of the RUG we could export the BMP file to the directory of my account in which I had to convert the file using the command line to a JPEG file.
After the struggles with the computers Mr. Vogelaar taught me which code to use to be able to make the program draw the graph of a certain function and how to change the window just like on the graphic calculator.
After a busy day it was five o’clock and time for me to go home and write this blog! :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marten

Actief sinds 28 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 199
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2901

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Februari 2016 - 05 Februari 2016

International Intership at the RUG

Landen bezocht: