The Python notebook - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Marten Lourens - WaarBenJij.nu The Python notebook - Reisverslag uit Groningen, Nederland van Marten Lourens - WaarBenJij.nu

The Python notebook

Door: Marten Lourens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marten

03 Februari 2016 | Nederland, Groningen

Today I started at 10:00 finishing off the planning and orientation about what to translate into Python and writing the notebook. I didn’t finish all of the Python courses yet but that wasn’t necessary as I already have some knowledge about the programming languages JavaScript and PHP which is in most cases very much the same.
I started off slow but as the day went on I got into some kind of routine. First I had to think of an exercise, after that I had to write an explanation to the exercise, then I had to capture the screen of the Texas Instruments calculator and at last I had to copy all the images to the home server of the Kapteyn Institute and convert the images using the command line to .jpeg or .png format and then I had to do the process all over again. Sometimes I ran in a bit of trouble with the calculation not fitting the interface of the Texas Instruments calculator. Then I had to made two screenshots and put them together using GIMP.
At 1 pm I went to the canteen for lunch which is actually more like a restaurant as it provides a wide variety of food. Today I had oxtail soup. During lunch I had conversations about Microsoft and Microsoft office in particular.
After lunch Mr. Vogelaar showed me the computer room in which the students are learning and working on their project. Apparently every student has its own computer. After this I went back to my office and commenced to work on the project. At 4 o’clock Mr. Vogelaar had to go home but I continued working till 5 o’clock. At the end of the day the computer started to get slow because of an unknown problem and the terminal started to act weird. When I wanted to convert an image to e.g. .jpeg it did work according to the command line but it didn’t appear in the file explorer but when I made a list of the document in the concerning directory, using the ls command, it did list the converted file. I’ll see whether the computer will continue to do this tomorrow and if it does maybe I or someone else at the department can fix it. Maybe it has got to do with the migration to Scientific Linux 7 that has been performed last night.
I met another one of my EIO goals today which is to learn the programming language Python. Although I don’t know everything there is to know, I have right now enough knowledge to finish the notebook and furthermore I can always finish my Python courses another time.
Today finished more than half of the descriptions and in the next two days I will need to finish both the descriptions and the Python code that needs to accompany it.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marten

Actief sinds 28 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 176
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2902

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Februari 2016 - 05 Februari 2016

International Intership at the RUG

Landen bezocht: